Interview with Astrid

Astrid (she/they) is a queer author and artist. I asked her about herself and their content, as well as content they’ve been enjoying recently. You can check out Astrid at the links at the end of the interview.

  1. What queer terminology do you use for yourself publicly? Do not feel pressured to come out as anything in your answer. Please only disclose whatever you’re comfortable with.
    • I use aro/ace non-binary the most, and pan-platonic as well as polyam.
  2. What non-queer demographic terminology do you use for yourself? Again, please only disclose whatever you’re comfortable with.
    • I’m ADHD/Autistic as well as pagan, a writer, and an artist.
  3. What projects are you involved in? This can be any type of content you’d like to promote.
    • Right now I’m editing my second book and have started my third. It’s part of my on-going series, “Omen of Ragnarök” which only has one book out right now. Unfortunately, I need more time so book 2 isn’t likely to be out before December at the earliest!
  4. What do you enjoy doing when you’re not creating content?
    • I don’t know if “enjoy” is quite the right word but when I’m not doing creative content, I’m working on my studies at uni where I’m working on my bachelor’s in Asian Studies plus a double minor in Japanese and PoliSci.
    • Outside of that, I enjoy playing Final Fantasy XIV, as well as spending time with my partner.
  5. What does the queer community needs to do better about understanding, accepting, and supporting?
    • Quit the gatekeeping. We shouldn’t have so much gatekeeping, especially with good-faith queer identities. If the queer identity isn’t hurting anyone then there shouldn’t be any problems. Then there’s also the gatekeeping with trans people and non-binary folk too and it’s just so much.
  6. What are you excited about going forward? Can be anything from creative projects, personal or professional milestones, etc.
    • I’m looking forward to publishing my second book when I finally finish it.
    • I’m also looking forward to my parents and I moving out of our current apartment.
    • Beyond that, I’m so excited to start my fall uni semester!
  7. Are there any pets or plants in your life?
    • I have two cats, Kismet and Snarf.
    • I also have succulents but right now my grandma has them because my neighbors were being jerks.
  8. What content / content creators have you been enjoying recently? This could be anything from books, to podcasts, to tutorial videos, etc. Anything you want other people to know about.
    • I can’t really think of any off the top of my head.
  9. What is your favorite thing about yourself?
    • My favorite thing about myself is my ability to create. I draw and write and that’s just so awesome.

Astrid can be found on twitter and their website. You can also buy her a coffee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s